Les Cuilleres

Welcome to Les Cuilleres! I spent a lot of time debating whether or not I should start this blog. Some of you may already know me from I’ll Have What She’s Having. I’ve been posting there for a little over a year now, and I plan to continue that blog. So why start Les Cuilleres? Well there are two main reasons. The first is that I’ve recently made a big change in my life by moving back in with my parents. The move is temporary as a I wait for my new condo to be built. The second reason is that I felt What She’s Having lacks focus.

Those two reasons aren’t as disparate as they sound. In the first few days at home I realized pretty quickly that my parents do not eat the same way I do. There is a lot of grease, and not a lot of vegetables. Healthy eating while I’m here is going to be a challenge. Les Cuilleres is about chronicling my struggles to eat healthy in an unhealthy environment, and trying to bring my parents along with me.

Today was the first time since I moved in that I had any time alone. Coming from an environment where I was alone often, I found this week incredibly challenging. I need my alone time, it’s how I recharge and clear my head. Between my mom walking into my bedroom whenever it pleases her and my dad blasting the TV volume as high is it can go, I felt as though I had no where to escape. This time to myself has been exactly what I needed. I spent the afternoon in the kitchen. I tried to re-familiarize myself with the layout, see what tools I now have at my disposal. I was tempted to reorganize the fridge so that I’d know where everything is, but I realized I’d be confusing the rest of my family. I need to keep reminding myself that there are other peoples needs to consider here.

After scoping things out I decided to make myself a quick, light dinner; barbecued shrimp with black bean salad. I cooked the beans from dry, but canned would work just as well. If you are buying canned, try to find a brand that doesn’t have too much salt.

Barbecued Shrimp with Black Bean Salad

For the Salad

  • 2 cups black beans, dried
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • hot sauce to taste ( I used Frank’s Red Hot)
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1 tomato, sliced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  1. In a medium pot over high heat, cover the beans with water. Bring to a boil then lower the temperature to simmer. Add the cumin, salt, pepper and hot sauce. Cook until the beans are softened. (This may take up to an hour)
  2. Once cooked, drain the beans and let them cool completely.
  3. Toss with the avocado, tomato and green pepper. Mix the lemon juice, olive oil and some salt and pepper together. Dress the salad with the lemon dressing.
For the Shrimp
  • 10-12 shrimp (the quantity will vary depending on the size of the shrimp)
  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. Mix the olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, salt and pepper together. Use this mixture to marinate the shrimp for 30 minutes.
  2. Heat the barbecue to a moderate temperate.
  3. Place the shrimp on skewers. If using wooden skewers be sure to soak them before barbecuing. Place on the heated grill, cooking on each side for 2-3 minutes until the shrimp are pink and no longer translucent.
  4. Serve with the bean salad.
Enjoy!
18 Comments

Filed under Dinner

18 responses to “Les Cuilleres

  1. Lynn, love the new venture and challenge. You’ll do great! I’m not a fan of shrimp, but love the avocado salad! :)

  2. Looks like a perfect light summer meal to me! Love the photo too.

  3. El

    Congratulations on the new blog. It looks great. The photo is beautiful and I look forward to more to come. Good luck at your parents house. Sounds like the kitchen is a perfect escape.

  4. I look forward to reading your new blog – the black bean salad sounds fantastic!

  5. The recipe sounds delicious. I like the cumin addition… Thanks for sharing!

  6. I am also moving home for the summer so it will be a challenge as I am accustomed to my independence although years ago I taught my mother never to come into my room :)

  7. Hi. i really like the idea for this blog. i guess a lot of people go through that same struggle of having to deal with an unhealthy environment. Also, i suggest jogging, reading and frequent trips to the library to deal with the parental situation. been there. it’s a b*tch, but it’ll pass, trust me.

    • Thanks for the tips. I’ve been thinking it might be time to start going to the gym again. The endorphins will help me through!

  8. I think every blogger eventually reaches a point where they outgrow their old blog and decide to make a big change… kinda funny that you and I should reach that conclusion at almost exactly the same time. :) Good luck with your new look and your new home… I think you’re off to a roaring good start.
    PS – Love, love, love the new blog name. So freakin’ much.

  9. Looking forward to keeping up with both of your blogs! Good luck with the building and the launch of this new endeavour!

  10. oo, gorgeous pictures! those shrimp with lemon look delicious. good luck with your new blog!

  11. I cant wait to see what Les Cuilleres has in store for us!

  12. BBQ shrimp live in my dreams… seriously. Living with your parents can be an adjustment, but it’s always good to challenge yourself.

  13. Good luck!! I know how hard it would be for me to move back with my parents. I used to think of my mother as a really good cook, but now our cooking and eating are very different. I’m eager to follow along!

  14. Oy, Lynn, I can’t eve imagine what it would be like moving back in with my parents. My mother was here for 2 days and it was good, but I was already longing for my space back. And to try to eat healthy with folks that don’t…it will indeed be a challenge! I will watch with interest.

Leave a Reply

