Moroccan Date Bonbons

Privacy is something I took for granted when I lived alone. Now that I’m back with my parents I’m really feeling how important it is. For over two weeks my bedroom did not have a door. It’s a small room in the basement that used to be my dads office; there was never any need to put a door on it. Until now. Unfortunately, installing a door is not as easy as it sounds. My dad finished the basement himself about 20 years ago. Because he did it alone things aren’t exactly standard.

This made buying a door very complicated. My brother measured the space and we went out and bought one that should have fit. When we got home we realized that because the walls were not level the door would not fit. My dad and brother discussed what to do for a while as I listened, not saying a word. In my mind the solution was simple, get this door cut or buy another one. To them it was much more complicated. At one point my dad said “We’ll just put a curtain”.

This was too much for me. I walked away, locked myself in a bathroom and cried.

I cried for the privacy I had lost. I cried for all the freedom I had given up. I cried for all the frustration I had felt over the first two weeks living back at home. It felt good to get it out.

While I was crying, my brother told my dad a curtain wouldn’t work for me. He said the noise in the house was bothering me. The noise does bother me, but I think I could get used to it. What I can’t get used to is not having a space that’s mine, where I can be alone. I had more privacy as a teenager than I did those first weeks.

What my dad heard was that he was making too much noise. So he stopped going into the basement. I noticed right away that he had stopped. The family room is there, that’s where the TV is. Unless it’s the height of tax season, my dad goes and watches TV after dinner. For 3 days he would have dinner, then go up to his room and listen to the radio. I knew something was wrong, but I didn’t know what my brother had told him.

Finally my mom told me what my dad was thinking. Although I enjoyed having the time to myself, I didn’t want my dad to feel uncomfortable in his own home. All I wanted was a door so I could have my own 10 by 10 space.

Luckily, it’s the Stanley Cup Playoffs. If there is one thing Canadians can come together over, it’s hockey. I went to see my dad, gave him a hug, and told him to come down and watch Game 1 with me.

Things seem to be better since. And there is now a door to my bedroom. With a lock! When I moved I kept thinking that this was a big change for me, but it’s a big change for my whole family. I’m going to try to be more conscious of that from now on.

This story has nothing to do with the recipe. Sorry. I tried to come up with ways to tie them together, but I couldn’t do it. So far on the food front things have been so so. I usually eat fruits for snacks at work, but fruits seems to disappear very quickly in this house. I looked through some magazines trying to find healthy snacks and I stumbled on to these Moroccan Date Bonbons the March issue of Food and Wine. I left out the olives because I felt that only certain olives would have the right flavour, and wasn’t sure the kalamata I had would work. The bonbons are super easy to put together, and make a great snack, or even a quick breakfast if you’re on the go.

I’m submitting this post to Ivonne at Cream Puffs in Venice for Magazine Monday’s. Magazine Monday’s is an informal blog event meant to get us all to start making those magazine recipes we’ve got bookmarked but never get around to making. If you’d like to participate, just send a link to Ivonne!

Moroccan Date Bonbons

Adapted from Food and Wine

  • 1 cup pistachios, divided
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 350 g pitted pressed dates (can be found in Arabic markets)
  • 1 tsbp orange zest
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp cardamom
  • 1/8 tsp orange flower water
  1. In a food processor, pulse 1/2 the pistachios till the form a course powder, set aside.
  2. In the same food processor, pulse the almonds and remaining pistachios until they form a course powder. Add the remaining ingredients and pulse until the nuts are well distributed throughout the dates.
  3. Scoop about a tablespoon of the date mixture and roll it into a ball with your hands. Place the ball in the pistachio powder and roll it to cover. Repeat with the remaining date mixture.
Enjoy!
13 Comments

Filed under Snack

13 responses to “Moroccan Date Bonbons

  1. Lynn, these are gorgeous! I’m glad you’ve gotten your 10 by 10 privacy all settled! Again, your photography is magazine worthy!

  2. Oh … that is such a moving story and I’m glad you gave your dad a hug … hope the door situation works out. And it’s so true … hockey brings all Canadians together … too funny! The bonbons are delicious!

  3. Jan

    Yum! These look great. Love the date and nut combo!
    At least now you have a door! Step 1 to adjusting to new living conditions! You are right though, it is an adjustment to everyone, though sometimes it’s hard to see that when you don’t have things like a bedroom door….

  4. Pingback: Cream Puffs In Venice - Magazine Mondays: Strawberries!

  5. Living back at home is definitely an adjustment for both parties involved – keep going! These bonbons sound terrific – no added sugar either, a plus in my book!

  6. These turned out better than the mag! GREG

  7. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  8. Whoa…. so beautiful! I just realized that this is your 2nd blogging. Way to go! I love your pictures and recipes, and can’t wait to read more!!

  9. So sorry things were a little rough at first Lynn..
    glad I discovered your other blog :)

  10. I love raw desserts and these pretty little things look sooooo delicious:) I’ve just found your blog through Tasteologie.

  11. Pingback: Moroccan Date Bon Bons | Savouring St. Louis

Leave a Reply

