Gazpacho

I’ve neglected both my blogs lately. I apologize for that.

The thing about having a food blog is that you have to make food. I haven’t been doing much of that. I’ve found it tough to find the time and the space to cook. Space is exactly the word I’m looking for. I’m rarely alone in the kitchen which makes it feel as if there is no room to move. To avoid the claustrophobic feeling I’ve been getting I avoided the kitchen. I found that I missed cooking; planning meals, shopping for ingredients, then putting it all together and  enjoying my creations. I also very quickly fell into some horrible eating habits. Last week I bought breakfast five times; lunch four times; and had dinner out twice. And by dinner I mean beer and nachos.

One week of that and I already felt like crap. Last weekend I made sure to spend some time in the kitchen. My parents were away Saturday, so I basically acted as though I still lived alone. I barbecued chicken breast for lunches during the week, and this gazpacho dinner. Gazpacho is the perfect summer meal; cool, refreshing, and a great way to use those summer vegetables.  As a bonus, no heat is required.

I followed this recipe from Canadian Living with a few adjustments to suite my tastes.

Gazpacho 

Serves 8

  • 3 tomatoes, peeled and seeded
  • 1 red pepper, halved and seeded
  • 1 green pepper halved and seeded
  • 1 english cucumber, halved and seeded
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves roasted garlic
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cups low sodium tomato juice
  • Tabasco sauce to taste ( I used a lot)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  1. In a blender, puree the vegetables, garlic and onion in batches. I left mine fairly chunky, but if you prefer you can puree till very smooth.
  2. Pour the vegetables into a large bowl, stir in the tomato juice, red wine vinegar, oil, and the Tabasco. Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Chill refrigerate for at least two hours.
  4. Serve with a garnish of diced vegetables.
Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Dinner

4 responses to “Gazpacho

  1. Yeah, the thing about a food blog is that you do have to make food, and sometimes I am just NOT in the mood. But gazpacho is always a great treat and yours looks wonderful. Buzzed!

  2. Gorgeous photography and definitely agree, food making needs to happen for food blogs. But a break from time to time is good! Happy Cooking!

  3. Sometimes a little break can really get the creative juices flowing!

    This recipe looks amaaaazing. I’m a big fan of chunky soups!

  4. I love gazpacho on a hot summer day like today – gorgeous colors!

Leave a Reply

